IIW Awards

With around 20 different Awards, IIW recognises a wide range of achievements: specific, outstanding or technical accomplishements, illustrious careers or long and meritious service to the IIW.

Trophies, medals, and certficates are presented each year to the winners during the opening ceremony of the IIW's Annual Assembly.

IIW is proud to promote and recognise excellence through eponymous prizes that pay tribute to eminent individuals, who played a subsantial part in IIW's history, whether as founding fathers, champions, or pillars of the Technical Commissions.

They each contributed to the IIW's aims and objectives or to development of revolutionary scientific and technical advances in welding and allied processes. it is the dedication and vision of these famous IIW personalities which set the stage for the organisation to be recognised today as the largest and most prestigious worldwide network for knowledge exchange of joining technologies.

Awards for Career Achievements and Contributions to IIW
  • the Fellow of IIW Award
  • the Regional Activities Award
  • the Walter Edström Medal
  • the Thomas Medal
  • the Arthur Smith Award

Awards for for Outstanding Technical Achivements
  • the Yoshiaki Arata Award
  • the André Leroy Prize
  • the Heinz Sossenheimer Software Innovation Award
  • the Henry Granjon Prize
  • the Halil Kaya Gedik Award
  • the Evgeny Paton Prize
  • Welding in the World Best Paper Award

More information are available by contacting the IIW General Secretariat.