Rules for the Arthur Smith Award

Rules for The Arthur Smith Award

The late Dr. Arthur Smith was the British delegate on Commission XII “Fluxes and gas-shielded electrical welding processes” for many years, and its chairman from 1980-1986. He was a pioneer of CO2 shielded arc welding of steel in the late 1950’s and made many technical contributions to the work of Commission XII. In addition, his energy and enthusiasm for all IIW activities was evident to all who knew him, and he contributed immensely to the international spirit of the organization, and to furthering its aims.


The Arthur Smith Award is to be given to an individual who has given dedicated service to the International Institute of Welding, and enabled the objectives of the Institute to be significantly advanced. Recipients will be individuals who have contributed to the activities of the Institute for a significant number of years, particularly in the work of the Working Units.

  • Individuals who are currently serving on the IIW Board of Directors and/or theTMB are not eligible for nomination for the Award;
  • The Award will not be granted posthumously.

The Award

The Award will consist of an engraved silver plate which will be presented annually. The Award will be made during the Opening Ceremony of the IIW Annual Assembly and presented by the Head of the UK Delegation.

Arthur Smith Process

Nominations may be submitted by Chairmen of Commissions and other Working Units, Members of the Technical Management Board and the Board of Directors.
The nominations will be considered by a Jury composed of the Technical Management Board, chaired by its Chairman. The Jury will make the selection at the “intermediate” meeting of the Technical Management Board.
Any Member of the Technical Management Board nominated shall not be part of the Jury. The TMB decision shall be approved by the Board of Directors.

Application Requirements

Application form for the Arthur Smith Award must contain the following elements:
  • A summary of 500 word the candidate’s contribution

Entry to the Recognition implies the unconditional acceptance of the present rules. Complete correctly the application form detailed. Applications that simply provide the candidate’s CV will not be considered.

More information is available by contacting the IIW General Secretariat.